WorthItMama
The OXO Tot Splash & Store Bathtub in Grey, seen from above: the white folding tub with its grey interior, the narrow newborn end, the wider sitter end and the white centre support post in the middle, on a white background The Splash & Store in Grey, from above — the narrow newborn end, the wider sitter end and the hard centre support post between them; it folds flat and hangs on its swivel hook

Baby bathtub · Check #41 — from the overnight review list

OXO Tot Splash & Store Bathtub

Worth It If…
$63.99
$63.99 at Target $79.99 list See it at OXO ↗

The only full tub that folds flat and disappears — worth it if storage is your constraint, if your baby tolerates the hard centre post.

FSA/HSA: Not eligible
See current price ↗
The pitch

a full standalone tub that folds flat and hangs on a hook — MomLovesBest’s Best Baby Tub for Small Spaces (4.25/5) — with two ends, newborn to sitter, and a drain you can open mid-bath

The catch

the hard, non-removable centre post is the #1 owner complaint, and Babylist’s bath expert recommends adding a towel or sponge insert despite the no-insert claim; Target owners rate it 4.1/5 across 116 ratings

FSA/HSA

not eligible — a baby bathtub is standard consumer baby gear, not a medical expense

What it is — a real tub that folds flat

A standalone infant bathtub that holds its own water — for use in an empty adult tub, a large sink or on the floor — 30.8 × 17.8 × 9.3 in open and 4.79 lbs (model 63142700). Two ends do the staging: the narrow “starter” end cradles newborns and smaller infants with no separate insert, and the wider end gives sitters (brand copy: 9–18 months) room to splash behind high walls; a built-in support post in the base is meant to keep a baby from sliding forward at either stage. A quick-release, dual-sided drain is reachable with the baby still in the tub. When bath time ends the tub collapses flat, the legs fold in, and a 360° swivel hook hangs it from a shower head or rod to dry and store. Materials are listed simply as “Plastic”; a retailer mirror adds BPA-free / PVC-free (goldtex.ca — retailer-asserted, not verified on a brand page in this check). Brand age range: birth to 18 months — and notably, no weight limit is published in any source reached in this check: MomLovesBest’s spec table lists “Weight Limit: Not specified,” and a parent roundup puts the practical ceiling at “about 18 pounds or so” (see the 18-month claim check below). Not OXO’s other bath accessories, and not the Angelcare-style reclined support of check #40 — a different product type: a support inside your tub vs. a standalone tub that holds its own water.

Claims vs reality

“Eliminating the need for a separate infant insert”

The shape is real; the no-insert promise is the contested half. The narrow end plus post does hold some newborns well — a Target 5-star verified owner calls it “the first of five tubs that held him upright even in his earliest, skinniest, slouchiest days” (Jun 2024) — but Babylist’s own bath expert names this exact tub as one where parents “may want to consider adding your own insert for added traction” (a bath sponge or simply a towel under the baby), because babies slip down when kicking in insert-less tubs like the Splash & Store and the Boon Soak. Owner reports agree in both directions: “Baby slips down” (Feb 2025, 1/5) and “she slid right down the side and dunked her face” at 6 months (Nov 2023, 1/5) sit alongside the held-upright praise. The honest version: the insert is not included and for many newborns not needed, but a folded towel as a traction layer is part of how this tub actually gets used — budget the towel, keep a hand on the baby, and do not read “no insert needed” as “hands-free newborn support.”

“Built-in support post keeps babies safely in place”: it keeps SOME babies in place and is itself the product’s #1 complaint. The post is a fixed, hard, non-removable centre stump the baby straddles. The negative pattern is specific and repeats across years of Target/oxo.com reviews: “Terrible design. Baby slips down. Plastic piece not ideal for girls or especially boys privates” (Feb 2025, 1/5); “he always cries when I use this one… He slipped once when kicking and squirming around and it’s like it pelted him [in] the private area” (Jun 2024, 1/5); “The middle stump is horrible. It’s not removable and its size and location was not well thought out” (Jun 2023, 1/5); “his bum is resting on the hard white plastic which is keeping him in place which can’t be comfortable,” plus a head resting on hard plastic with no cushion (Jul 2024, 2/5). The counter-pattern is also real: other owners put a washcloth over the middle piece “just in case” and report zero issues to 4 months (Jun 2023, 5/5), and the held-upright owner above credits the post directly. Net: the post is a genuine anti-slide device whose hard, fixed geometry is a comfort gamble that splits by baby — it is the single feature to test in the return window, ideally with the washcloth-over-post workaround, before deciding.

More claim checks — the 18-month headline, the fold, and the clean

“Grows with little ones from 0–18 months”: age is the wrong ruler and the owner pool proves it. Length ends this tub, not birthdays: a 5-star Target owner whose baby loved it reports “He outgrew it quickly… didn’t make it to 6 months! Let alone 18. But we have a very long kiddo” (Jun 2025); The Bump’s forum file has the same arc (moved on once the baby could sit, to a laundry basket in the adult tub). With no published weight limit and a 30.8-in shell, long babies exit months before the headline; average babies plausibly get the sitter phase, but almost nobody’s buying pattern should assume 18 months of use. Treat the real window as newborn to sitting-plus-a-bit — roughly the first 6–9 months for most, less for long babies — still longer than check #40’s ~6-month support window, but not the toddler runway the box implies.

“Collapses flat for compact storage” + “smooth construction makes it a cinch to clean”: storage is the verified headline; clean is mostly true with two documented asterisks. Storage: MomLovesBest names it Best Baby Tub for Small Spaces (4.25/5 — Safety 4.5, Design 4.5, Comfort 4, Ease of Cleaning 4.5) precisely because it “folds nearly flat, with legs that tuck in and a swivel hook so you can hang it on a shower rod or towel bar instead of surrendering floor space,” and owners confirm it stores behind a bathroom door, travels, and hangs from shower head, door rail or towel rack. Asterisk 1 — mould: a verified Target owner reports “it molds! Even if you fold it up [to dry] it holds water [in] the legs” (Dec 2023, 2/5) — the fold that makes storage work can trap water in the legs if it is folded wet; hang it open on its hook to dry first, fold second. Asterisk 2 — the warning label itself: two separate owners report the interior warning sticker is not waterproof and peels/dissolves into the bath water in flakes the baby can mouth (Mar 2024, 2/5: “the warning sticker on the inside of the tub was not waterproof??? So every bath resulted in more and more of the paper peeling away into the bath water”; Oct 2023, 1/5: “The peels were all around the tub and in the water, they got attached to my baby’s body”). A safety label that disintegrates into the bath is a quality defect to inspect for on arrival — doubly ironic on a product governed by a federal warnings standard (see Safety). A third durability report is single-source and flagged as such: one oxo.com review via Target (Oct 2025, 1/5) reports the plastic at both ends separated at 2.5 months and snagged/cut the baby’s head skin — one report, not a pattern, but the reason to inspect seams and stop using a separating unit.

Safety & recalls

No CPSC recall found for the OXO Tot Splash & Store Bathtub itself (checked Oct 17, 2026). The governing federal rule for this product type is the infant bath tub standard at 16 CFR 1214, incorporating ASTM F2670 — CPSC’s approval release notes the standard’s latching/locking, static-load and drowning/fall warning requirements, and CPSC’s incident file for infant tubs 2004–2015: 247 incidents, 31 fatal, the hazard patterns being drowning/near-drowning when a child was left alone, protrusions/sharp edges and lacerations, product failures, entrapment, slippery surfaces and mould — several of which map directly onto this check’s owner patterns. The standard’s warning language, which this tub must carry, is the use rule: babies have drowned using infant bath tubs — stay in arm’s reach, use in an empty adult tub or sink, keep the drain open; fall hazard — place the tub only where the manufacturer intends, never lift or carry the baby in the tub. AAP-aligned practice from check #40 carries over unchanged: touch supervision, never unattended for seconds, ~2 inches of water / only as much as necessary, ~98–100 °F tested first, water heater ≤120 °F, sponge baths until the cord stump falls off. Distinguish, do not conflate: the 2025–26 CPSC bath-SEAT recalls/warnings (YCXXKJ, CheerKid, NFSVLB, Trankerloop, Lucakuins and others) cover upright suction-cup seats for sitting babies under the separate bath-seat standard (16 CFR 1215 / ASTM F1967) — a different product type from this standalone tub — and the Nov 2025 infant-tub recall in the news (Sefon/Napei, a button-battery compartment on a different Amazon tub) is likewise not this product, which has no electronics or batteries. The OXO-specific safety content is therefore not a recall but the use discipline plus three unit-inspection points from owner reviews: seams not separating, label not flaking, legs dried before folding.

Real reviews — the most polarised tub in the library

A storage design editors endorse, attached to a hard-post newborn fit owners split on, at a middling aggregate score. Target rates it 4.1/5 across 116 ratings / 59 reviews (checked Oct 17, 2026) — the lowest tub score in checks #40–#41 and visibly bimodal: the review file interleaves 5-star storage raves with 1-star safety/comfort rejections, with very little in between. Editorial file: MomLovesBest Best for Small Spaces at 4.25/5 with the explicit newborn caveat (“very floppy newborns still want a steadying hand, and the rigid shell, even folded, is bulkier than a fabric sling”); Babylist’s expert files it under tubs that benefit from an added towel/sponge insert; a sponsored 2020 blog review (Her Life Sparkles, sponsored by OXO Tot — flagged as sponsored, counted as brand-adjacent colour only) praises the two ends, the accessible drain and flat fold. Praise, consistently: the fold + hook genuinely disappears the tub in small bathrooms (the one-bedroom-apartment owner who kept it for baby #2, Feb 2024, 5/5); the drain plug “seals super well but isn’t hard to remove” and lets you swap dirty water without lifting the baby out; smooth interior wipes clean and dries quickly when hung; worked for both kids in repeat-buyer accounts. Complaints, in order: (1) the hard centre post — discomfort/crying, especially for boys, and head/bum resting on hard plastic with no cushion (the dominant complaint cluster); (2) slipping/sliding despite the post, including a face-dunk slide at 6 months — the no-insert promise failing for kickers; (3) outgrown early by long babies (before 6 months in the flagged case) against the 0–18-month headline; (4) warning-sticker peeling into the water (two owners) and mould held in the legs when folded wet (one verified owner) — the easy-clean asterisks; (5) price resentment at the current street level — The Bump’s owner “really like[s] it but I don’t think it’s worth $70!!” at a lower historical price than today’s. No BabyGearLab or Wirecutter dedicated tested review of this tub was reachable in this check and none is claimed; MommyHood101’s best-tubs testing does not feature it in the coverage reached.

Price & FSA/HSA

$63.99 at Target (in stock, checked Oct 17, 2026); MSRP $79.99 per the manufacturer’s datasheet (model 63142700). The Bump’s owner file shows it sold well under $70 in earlier years, so $63.99 is a sale-off-MSRP price, not a bargain-basement one — never pay the $79.99 list without checking Target first. The comparison set is the verdict: check #40’s Angelcare Baby Bath Support at ~$20 does the newborn months better-loved (4.7/5, Babylist parents’ favourite) but is not a tub and ends at sitting; rigid multi-stage tubs — Fisher-Price 4-in-1 / First Years Sure Comfort class at ~$27–$40 and Frida Baby 4-in-1 at ~$39.49, Skip Hop Moby/Wave at ~$40–$50 — cost roughly half to two-thirds of the OXO, include slings/inserts the OXO omits, and run as long or longer, but none of them folds flat; Stokke Flexi Bath at ~$79.99 is the other folding premium tub, at/above the OXO’s MSRP. So the OXO’s premium buys exactly one thing — disappearance between baths — at ~$24–$44 over a good rigid tub or ~3x the Angelcare. Secondhand: defensible with inspection — no motor, fabric or foam — but inspect the specific failure points this check found (seam separation at the ends, flaking interior label, mould in the leg folds, hook intact — one owner reports the hook broke on first use, Mar 2024) and skip any unit showing them.

FSA/HSA: not eligible — a baby bathtub is standard consumer baby gear, not a medical expense, and no FSA/HSA eligibility listing was found for it (checked Oct 17, 2026). Budget it as a regular registry purchase.

The verdict

WORTH IT IF small-space storage is your binding constraint — because on that one axis this tub has no rigid-tub rival: it is a full standalone tub (its own water, sink/tub/floor use, a drain you can open mid-bath) that folds nearly flat, hooks onto a shower rod and vanishes behind a door, which is why MomLovesBest makes it its small-spaces pick and why apartment owners rebuy it for baby #2. That buyer should go in with the conditions that are the verdict: the price of admission is $63.99 at Target (not the $79.99 MSRP, and ~3x check #40’s Angelcare); the “no insert needed” promise is half-true — keep a folded towel or bath sponge ready as the traction layer Babylist’s expert recommends, and a washcloth over the hard centre post, and judge the post in the first baths inside the return window, because the post is the binary feature — babies who tolerate it get a genuinely secure, held-upright bath; babies who don’t cry and slide, and no adjustment fixes a fixed stump; the 0–18-month headline is length-capped in practice (long babies out before 6 months); and the care routine is hang-open-to-dry on the hook before folding (mould in wet-folded legs), plus an arrival inspection of the seams and the interior warning label (separating plastic and flaking labels are stop-and-return defects, not wear). Use it the federal warning’s way — arm’s reach always, empty adult tub or sink, drain open, never carry the baby in it. NOT worth it if: you have room to store a rigid tub (a $27–$40 Fisher-Price/First Years/Frida multi-stage tub includes the sling this one omits and leaves $25–$35 unspent); your baby is a newborn you expect to be floppy or a vigorous kicker (the Angelcare support in check #40 at ~$20, or a sling tub, holds that baby better); you are buying for the 18-month runway (buy on length, not the box age — a bigger rigid tub or the adult tub with a bath seat later is the honest path); or the unit in front of you shows seam separation, a peeling label or mould in the folds at any price, new or used.

Sources: target.com OXO Tot Splash and Store Bathtub listing A-80234306 ($63.99 offer, in stock; 4.1/5 across 116 ratings / 59 reviews; brand description — 0–18 months, narrow newborn end eliminating a separate insert, wider 9–18-month sitter end with high walls, built-in support post, quick-release dual-sided drain, collapses flat, legs fold in, swivel hook; specs 30.8 × 17.8 × 9.3 in, 4.79 lbs; the owner pool quoted in this check, Oct 2023–Oct 2025) · momlovesbest.com Best Baby Bathtubs 2026 (OXO Tot Splash & Store as Best Baby Tub for Small Spaces, 4.25/5 — Safety 4.5 / Design 4.5 / Comfort 4 / Ease of Cleaning 4.5; spec table — folding plastic tub, 0–18 months, weight limit not specified, built-in support post) · babylist.com Ask the Expert: Bathtime (Splash & Store named with the Boon Soak as an insert-less tub where parents may want to add their own insert — bath sponge or towel — for traction when a baby slips down kicking) · brandsolutionsintl.com manufacturer datasheet for model 63142700 (MSRP $79.99; 0–18 months, narrow/wider ends, support post, dual-sided drain, collapses flat, 360° swivel hook) · baby.zola.com listing (brand copy; materials Plastic; dimensions 30.8 × 17.8 × 9.3 in; 90-day returns) · goldtex.ca listing (BPA-free / PVC-free retailer assertion, flagged; SKU 63142700) · raiseupwa.com bathtub guide (practical ceiling “about 18 pounds or so,” flagged as a parent roundup estimate) · forums.thebump.com Product Spotlight: Bath Time (long-term owner file) · herlifesparkles.com OXO Tot review (sponsored by OXO Tot, flagged as sponsored) · oxo.com Baby Registry Guide and the brand product page (Splash & Store Bathtub, $79.99) · cpsc.gov federal infant bath tub standard approval (16 CFR 1214 incorporating ASTM F2670: latching/locking, static load, drowning/fall warnings; 247 incidents 2004–2015, 31 fatal) and cpsc.gov ASTM F2670 warning figures (stay in arm’s reach, use in empty adult tub or sink, keep drain open, never lift or carry baby in tub, fall hazard) · schmidtandclark.com / mother.ly / cpsc.gov on the distinct 2025–26 bath-seat recalls and the Sefon/Napei battery-compartment infant-tub recall (different products/standards, flagged throughout as not this tub). Not verified: a live Amazon buy-box price, rating or ASIN read directly from amazon.com (no ASIN for this model was verified in any reachable source — this card’s click-through therefore uses the brand product page, not an Amazon link); a published weight limit (none exists in any source reached — MomLovesBest lists it as not specified; the ~18-lb figure is a parent roundup’s practical estimate, flagged as such); BabyGearLab or Wirecutter tested coverage (no dedicated tested review from either was reachable and none is claimed); any independent test of the BPA-free/PVC-free materials claim (retailer-asserted only). Check #41 — from the overnight review list, checked October 17, 2026. Some links on this page may earn WorthItMama an affiliate commission — it never changes the answer.

The only full tub that folds flat and disappears — worth it if storage is your constraint, if your baby tolerates the hard centre post.

Worth It If…$63.99See current price ↗

New checks every week, plus the safety and recall alerts that matter — get The Check-Up, free every Sunday.

$63.99OXO Tot Splash & Store Bathtub
See current price